From the Lost Notes of the Deep Dweller’s Shipyard [Fragment #15/The Escape Note]

Though the edges are rough, the main body of the note remains intact. Despite the haste in which the words were written, the letters are, unlike those on the last note but this, easily readable. It may be a sign either for the note’s importance or that it has never been found by the person to whom it was written.

I cannot wait any longer now. I must make a move. The dark closes in on this place, and the others will soon be coming after me. They may still be feasting on that which has been left in the wake of the slaughter ensuing the ritual, but their hunger appears insatiable. The other day I heard one of them murmur something about a silent song while tearing a still somewhat alive victim to pieces. I do not know why you have not met me here; I do not wish to assume the worst; I do not want to leave you behind; I love you more than anything, yet if I stay, I, too, shall perish, and if you should still be alive, somehow, somewhere, it would have all been for nothing. If you find this, I will be gone. Come after me as soon as you can. I love you so much that it hurts.

Leave a Reply

