An Ancient Nemesis Revisited

Please scroll down for an English translation.

Wiewohl ich Dich zutiefst verachte und fort von Dir zu kommen suche, so regt sich tief im Innersten nur zärtliche Empfindung gegen Dich. Mich friert, und doch will ich Dich weiter wärmen, als hättest Du mich nie verletzt, als hättest Du mir, übellaunig, wie Du bist, das Herz nicht aus der Brust gerissen.
Womöglich hast Du Dich nie gegen mich gestellt, und all der Kummer, den ich litt und leide, entsprang und entspringt bloß meiner Phantasie. Zu Unrecht mag ich Dich gescholten haben, verurteilt hinter meiner Brust. Denn dort, trotz allen Übels, aller Bitterkeit, schlägt es noch lauter, wärmer, wenn ich Dich denke: verloren hab ich, was ich nie besessen; vergessen hab ich, was ich nie gewußt. Trotz allem lebt die Sehnsucht nach Dir fort, wie weiland meiner Zeitlang Drang.
Ich könnt’ es nicht ertragen und muß es dennoch wissen – ich weiß, das Elend wird mich dann zerreißen, und nimmermehr werd ich noch glücklich.
Die Liebe mein ist böse Sehnsucht, die mehr als meinen Schatten frißt – sie singt von Süßigkeit, um Bitterkeit zu pflanzen, verleibt sich Skylla und Charybdis ein zum Zeichen ihrer Dominanz. Kein Schwert kann ihre Zunge zügeln, kein Hammer schlägt den Schrein entzwei. Sie zwingt mich in die Knie, enthauptet mich, um mich dann neu zu formen. Naiv genug bin ich wohl nicht, zu glauben, mein Elend könnt’ sie je erweichen; sie wartet auf zur Abendstunde und trägt mich auf den Wellen meiner Schmach davon.
Nur Deine Nähe wäre mir je Trost, das Gesichtchen möcht’ ich Dir liebkosen, die Deine Hand in meine legen und all die bittren Stunden so vergessen, in welchen ich mich um mich selbst gedreht. Denn wenn wir umeinander kreisen, ersäuft das Biest zuletzt im Meer.

English translation

Although I despise you sorely und am trying to get away from you, deep down inside there is only gentle sentiment towards you. I am freezing, and yet I want to continue warming you, as though you had never hurt me, as though you, ill-tempered as you are, had never ripped my heart out of my chest. Perhaps you have never turned on me, and all the grief from which I suffered and suffer was and is but of my own imagination. Wrongfully I may have chided you, judged behind my chest. For there, despite all malady, despite all bitterness, it beats louder, warmer if I think of you: I lost that which I never had; I forgot that which I never knew. My desire for you lives on regardless, as whilom my longing’s urge.
I could not endure it, and yet I need to know – I know that misery will tear me apart then, and never shall I be happy again.
This love of mine is sinister yearning eating more than my shadow – it sings of sweetness to plant bitterness, devours Skylla and Charybdis as a demonstration of its dominance. No sword can tame its tongue, no hammer strikes the shrine asunder. It brings me to my knees, decapitates me to form me anew. I am not naive enough to believe that my misery could ever melt its heart; it attends at the evening hour and carries me away on the waves of my disgrace.
Only your affection could ever comfort me, your face I should like to caress, lay your hand in mine, and thus forget all the bitter hours in which I revolved about myself. For if we revolve about each other, the beast must drown in the sea.

Commentary

The translation of the text above was somewhat difficult, as it is not simply prose. Instead, the original German version is written in a more poetic manner, despite not strictly being poetry in a modern sense, similar perhaps to the epic texts from Graeco-Roman antiquity. I hope you enjoy it nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

