Helmsman

It was a sun-lit morning in early spring,
When the stars and the moon aligned well.
The birds had foreseen your arrival,
My darling, my beloved, the only one I would ever have.

But the winds turned against me,
And their lovely tune turned into a howling.
I now wear the shadows of night in my eyes,
For the cold of winter ate my soul.

Now I long for the ferry
to carry me over to the land of the dead.
I realize that my wish has been granted,
For I have been its helmsman for a very long time.

Commentary
Clearly inspired by ‘Bríd Óg Ní Mháille’, I intended to write this in Gaeilge. Since I only have a very rudimentary understanding of that language’s structure right now, however, I decided to put it on hold for the time being and instead just publish an English version. My best efforts of writing this piece in Gaeilge included the use of several online dictionaries, Wikipedia, Google Translate, and other semi-reliable sources. Besides, I do not wish any native speaker to come across this only to get the impression I were disrespecting the language or culture.

Leave a Reply

