Laurie Penny, Olivia Grace, Sheen Francis: A Couple of Literary Recommendations

The first name in the title, Laurie Penny, may already ring a bell for some people. According to her own account, Laurie is, however, despite her being British, only more or less famous in Germany. I only encountered her and her works yesterday, when on Twitter, I stumbled across all kinds of abusive tweets directed at her. I read she were a terrible human being, mostly from commentators who felt the urge to insult her with reference to her Jewish origins and her vagina. I wanted to find out for myself how ‘terrible’ she actually is, so I visited her website and read quite a few articles and short stories by her.
And of course she turned out not be terrible at all; on the contrary, I agree with her on most points (society, patriarchal structures, feminism, and more), which are considerate and refer to facts rather than mere opinion. If there is any work by her, you must needs read, it is her short story ‘The House of Surrender’. The abstract reads:

Rape Culture In a remote future violent criminals go to a sanctuary by free choice. But a new arriving stranger brings trouble. A science fiction story by Laurie Penny

Although the story is simply listed under ‘rape culture’, the society portrayed is interesting in several regards as it differs from ours quite a bit – in a positive manner. But you should go on ahead and read the story for yourself.

The other day, I came across a very interesting Twitter account. As it turned out, the owner is an incredibly talented young author of both poetry and prose, going by the name Olivia Grace. My thoughts about her work can be summarized as follows:

I whispered the words out loud to taste them, thick and salty like sea water, heavily laden with real emotion.

Last but not least, I found another weblog on WordPress by someone called Sheen Francis. Her poetry, while moderate and down to earth in choice of words, would seem to be from another star – or at least some point not to be found geographically on Earth. Perhaps I am describing it like this because I am still underlying the impressions of her poem ‘Stellar’. About herself she writes, inter alia:

She always has something to say when she writes. Only when she writes.

I coompletely agree with the first statement. I am not so sure about the second one, though. But decide for yourself.

[Note: I added permanent links to all three authors under the heading ‘Lesenswert/Worth reading’ in the menu.]

4 thoughts on “Laurie Penny, Olivia Grace, Sheen Francis: A Couple of Literary Recommendations

  1. I’ve taken a look at at #2 and #3; You write better than them, imho🙂 . To be truthful, I prefer writers who are older as they have gained enough experience to write with depth while incorporating their sound wisdom in their prose.

    I also love poets who are fond of metaphors because I find them challenging my comprehension; I am so lacking in that skill it results in my pathetic attempts to insert them in my own writing.

    • You are entitled to your opinion, and I take no issue with it. I expect the same of the aforementioned authors. Everyone should be free to share their thoughts on both poetry and prose or the other arts without being reprimanded for doing so.
      I recommend authors and texts as well as music I like; I do not expect any of my readers to like them at all, let alone as much as I do.
      And I do not care how old people actually are; you can easily lie about your age on the internet without anyone finding out unless they perform a thorough research. Even teenagers, at any rate, may have to say interesting things, despite the tendency in adults not to take them seriously. Teaching has ironically taught me a lesson in listening to adolescents; I have been surprised positively more than once how profoundly even young people can think and talk about important topics if given the chance. ‘Non aetate, verum ingenio apiscitur sapientia’, reads a quote by the Roman comic playwright Titus Maccius Plautus (254 BC – 184 BC), and with that I (and my experience) perfectly agree.
      Interestingly, while you struggle to use metaphors in your writings, I seldom think about doing so. The metaphors just come to my mind as the wind may touch my face unexpectedly. Often enough, I cannot express something any differently because no prosaic wording may do the thought or emotion I wish to express justice. Or perhaps this is just a limit to my own imaginativeness as there are limits of a different sort to other people’s imaginativeness.

Leave a Reply

