Leere Worte (Empty Words)

Please scroll down for an English translation.

Es gibt nichts,
Was nicht schon gesagt worden wäre.
Darum sage ich zu Dir,
»Ich hab Dich lieb«.
Das habe ich gelernt,
Artig und ohne Beschwerde.
Ich weiß nicht,
Ob es stimmt.
Viel zu leicht
Geht es über die Lippen,
Und Du hörst es jeden Tag.
Ich habe nie gesagt,
Daß ich Dich wirklich brauche –
Denn das weiß ich
Ganz bestimmt.
______________________________
English translation
There is nothing
That has not been said before.
Therefore I tell you,
‘I love you’.
This I learnt,
Behaving well and without complaint.
I do not know
Whether it is true.
It is far too easy
To say,
And you are told so every day.
I have never said
That I really need you –
For this I know
Without a doubt.

Leave a Reply

