Stillstand (Standstill)

Please scroll down for an English translation.

Ich weiß nicht, warum ich aufstehe
und gehe, wohin ich gehe.
Ich folge keinem Regenbogen
und finde keinen Topf voll Gold.

Ich setze einen Fuß vor den andern,
ohne einen Schritt voranzukommen,
denn letztlich treibe ich ja doch nur
von stiller Ewigkeit zu Ewigkeit zu dir.

[ENGLISH TRANSLATION
I don’t know why I get up
and go where I go.
I’m not following a rainbow
and won’t find a pot of gold.

I place one one foot in front of the other
without taking a step forward,
for in the end I only drift
from silent eternity to eternity to you.]

2 thoughts on “Stillstand (Standstill)

Leave a Reply

